Natural World Heritage Site

The Dolomites, one of the world’s most beautiful mountain chains, have officially been declared a Natural World Heritage Site

After the Aeolian Islands, the Dolomites are the second natural monument in Italy added to the Natural World Heritage Site list (June 2009). This gives the “Pale Mountains”, how they are called due to its rocks, a special protection in order to preserve their unspoilt state.

The Dolomites extend on the territory of five Italian provinces, one of which is South Tyrol. These mountains include nine mountain ranges - five areas are located in South Tyrol: the Sesto Dolomites, Fanes-Senes-Braies, Puez-Odle, Sciliar-Catinaccio with Mount Latemar and the Rio delle Foglie Gorge (Bletterbach), the “Grand Canyon of South Tyrol”.

Alta Badia is located in the heart of the Dolomites and is thus a perfect starting point for hikes across these mountains.

Suggest an edit/correction

Our editorial staff is always committed to ensuring the highest quality and accuracy of the information we publish. If you have suggestions to improve this page you can send them to us using the form below. Thank you in advance!


Suggested accommodations

  1. Kolfuschgerhof Mountain Resort
    Kolfuschgerhof Mountain Resort

    Kolfuschgerhof Mountain Resort

Tips and more infos